

CoLABs 2020 annual meeting

The 1st annual meeting of Collaborative Laboratories

16-17 October 2020

Fundação Dr. Antonio Cupertino De Miranda, Av. da Boavista 4245. 4100-140 Porto

<u>Objective</u>: To deepen the monitoring of the CoLABs activities' and their development in the context of regional, national and European research and innovation strategies, as well as to foster the debate on their role in the dynamics of innovation, job creation and qualified employment in Portugal.

Methodology

- The sessions will occur exclusively in English and will be transmitted in live streaming.
- **Presentation:** 5-10 min. (max.) each CoLAB should prepare about 4 slides, including:
 - i) Status of installation updated to 30th September 2020, with data about the HR hired and the financial execution implemented.
 - ii) Challenges and opportunities for the upcoming: 6 months; 2 years; and 5 years.
 - iii) Current and evolving key competences/activities and target markets.
 - iv) Impact forecast on qualified employment (direct and indirect).
- **Discussion:** about 10 min. discussion with the Mentors* after the presentation of each CoLAB.

*Mentors can participate in the workshop virtually. Information about the distribution of mentors among CoLABs can be consulted in the end of the agenda.







AGENDA – Friday, 16th October 2020

14h30-15h00 – Opening of the Workshop and Identification of Challenges and Opportunities

Manuel Heitor, Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education (confirmed)

Nelson de Souza, Minister of Planning (to be confirmed)

Pedro Siza Vieira, Minister of State, Economy and Digital Transition (to be confirmed)

15h00-15h45 – Evolution and Challenges for CoLABs: the ongoing Mentoring Program

José Luís Encarnação, Coordinator of the International Panel of Experts, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft

15h45-16h30 - Health and Social Services

VOH.CoLAB (Value4Health.CoLAB) - Portuguese Value-Based Healthcare CoLAB *Ana Rita Londral*

VectorB2B - Drug Developing

Sofia Côrte-Real

CoLABOR - Collaborative Laboratory for Work, Employment and Social Protection

Ana Alves da Silva e Frederico Cantante

ProChild - ProChild CoLAB Against Poverty and Social Exclusion

Helena Grangeia e Patricia Malafaya

16h30-17h00 Coffee-break

17h00-18h15 – Materials, Circular Economy and Urban Sustainability

C5LAB (CemLab) - Sustainable Construction Materials

Francisco Leitão

CECOLAB (eCOLab) - Collaborative Laboratory Towards Circular Economy

João Nunes

CEiiA (S2uL) - Smart and Sustainable Urban Living

Frederico Custódio

BUILT COLAB - Collaborative Laboratory for the Future Built Environment

Paulo Fonseca

AlmaScience - Cellulose for Sustainable Smart Applications

Carlos Silva

18h15 – Networking Cocktail

Organized by







AGENDA – Saturday, 17th October 2020

09h30-10h00 Opening and Identification of Challenges and Opportunities

Manuel Heitor, Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education (confirmed)

Ana Abrunhosa, Minister of Territorial Cohesion (to be confirmed)

Maria do Céu Albuquerque, Minister of Agriculture (to be confirmed)

10h00-11h15 - Agrofood

CoLAB Vines&Wines – Portuguese Vines and Wines, competitiveness and sustainability *Tim Hoggs*

SFCoLAB - Smart Farm CoLAB

Cátia Pinto

Colab4Food - Collaborative Laboratory for Innovation in the Food Industry

Miguel Teixeira

Food4Sustainability - IDANHA FOODLAB

Gonçalo Amorim

Feedinov - Innovative Feed Strategies for Sustainable Animal Production *Ana Sofia Santos*

11h15-11h45 Coffee-break

11h45-12h45 – Energy and Sustainability

BIOREF (ProBiorefinery) – Research and Innovation on Biorefineries *Joana Bernardo*

NET4CO2 - NETwork for a Sustainable CO2 Economy

Maria João Souto

VG CoLAB - Vasco da Gama CoLAB, Energy Storage

Adélio Mendes

SEL (CSESI Hub) - CoLAB Smart Energy Services Innovation Hub

Filipe Santos

12h45 - 14h00 Lunch

14h00-14h45 - Biodiversity and Forest

MORE – Mountains of Research

Andrey Romanenko

ForestWISE - Collaborative Laboratory for Integrated Forest & Fire Wise Management

Carlos Fonseca

InnovPlantProtect - Innovative bio-based solutions for crop protection

Pedro Fevereiro

Organized by







14h45 – 16h00 Digital and Information Systems; Climate, Space and Oceans

DTx - Digital Transformation CoLab - Experiencing the Future

António Cunha

VORTEX - CoLAB on Cyber-physical Systems and Cyber Security

Rodrigo Maia

+Atlantic - Collaborative Laboratory for the Atlantic

Nuno Lourenço

GreenCoLAB - Green Ocean Technologies and Products Collaborative Laboratory

Rodrigo Beja

B2E - Blue BioEconomy CoLAB

Elisabete Matos

16h00-16h30 Coffee-break

16h30-17h15 – Final discussion with the International Panel of Experts

Moderator: Eduardo Maldonado, President of the National Innovation Agency (confirmed)

Brief interventions:

José Luís Encarnação, Coordinator of the International Panel of Experts, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft Nicholas Veck, Satellite Applications Catapult, UK Wolfgang Wahlster, DFKI and Universität des Saarlandes, Germany Julián Florez Esnal, Vicomtech, Spain Egbert-Jan Sol, TNO, Netherlands

17h15-17h45 – Conclusions

Hélène Kirchner, Inria, France

Eduardo Maldonado, President of the National Innovation Agency (confirmed)

Helena Pereira, President of the Science and Technology Foundation (confirmed)

17h45-18h15 – Closing Session

Isabel Ferreira, Secretary of State for the Inland Valorization (to be confirmed) *Manuel Heitor*, Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education (confirmed)









International Panel of Mentors

CoLAB	Mentor 1	Mentor 2
VOH.CoLAB (Value4Health.CoLAB)	Julián Florez Esnal	Peter Doenecke
VectorB2B	Wolfgang Wahlster	Joachim Tretzel
CoLABOR	José Luís Encarnação	Maria José Aranguren
ProChild	José Luís Encarnação	Paulien Bongers
C5Lab (Cemlab)	Egbert-Jan Sol	Bernd Hillemeier
CECOLAB (eCOLab)	Wolfgang Wahlster	Ardi Dortmans
CEiiA (S2uL)	Hélène Kirchner	Max Mühlhäuser
BUILT COLAB	Hans Werner Eirich	Hélène Kirchner
AlmaScience	Hans-Peter Fink	Joachim Tretzel
CoLAB Vines&Wines	Nicholas Veck	Hervé Hanin
SFCoLAB	Nicholas Veck	Kees de Gooijer
CoLab4Food	Kees de Gooijer	Bernd Göckener
Food4Sustainability (Idanha Food Lab)	Kees de Gooijer	Mark Bücking
FeedInov	José Luís Encarnação	Mark Bücking
BIOREF (ProBiorefinery)	Julián Florez Esnal	Konrad Mussenbrock
NET4CO2	Egbert-Jan Sol	Konrad Mussenbrock
VG CoLAB	Egbert-Jan Sol	Konrad Mussenbrock
SEL (CSESI Hub)	Egbert-Jan Sol	Konrad Mussenbrock
MORE	José Luís Encarnação	Bernd Göckener
ForestWISE	Julián Florez Esnal	Thuy Le Toan
InnovPlantProtect	Hélène Kirchner	Kees de Gooijer
DTx	Wolfgang Wahlster	Max Mühlhäuser
VORTEX	Hélène Kirchner	Max Mühlhäuser
+Atlantic	Nicholas Veck	Uwe von Lukas
GreenCoLAB	Wolfgang Wahlster	Uwe von Lukas
B2E	Nicholas Veck	Angelika Brandt



